This regrading follows the first 2020 grading period that ended on 08/08/2020 inclusive of the Birmingham meeting on that day.

These grades are active from the Taunton weekend (12th &13th September).

Roof colours should be correct or the driver will start all races at the rear of the grid.

294  Jonathon Clare


343  Paul Heath

377  Dave Brawn


19    Alex Langdell

37    Jason Scattergood

63    Dave Kilby

111  Daniel Billington


6      Adam Perkins

47    James Faultless

129  Billy Higgins

326  Johnny Hall


10    Marcus Worth

103  Katie Billington

124  Adam Barrett

555  Sam Woods


68    Andy Loakes

69    John Cope

205  Peter Walford

300  Sam Tennant

If you are new or returning to the formula or not listed above, please contact the committee for confirmation.

Retired/Inactive Drivers:

Gold - 1 (667) Liam Sankey

Superstar - 940  Dave Noakes

Red - 31 Paul Higgins

           70 Adam Flynn

           707 Simon Flynn

Blue - 53 Dave Billington

            394 Chris Clare

Yellow - 20 Charlie Bull

                668 Dave Sankey

White - 21 James Spittle

               24 Ian Wood

               102 Anna Williams

Modstox rules on grading (rulebook page 16-17, section 3)

  • Modstox operates a handicapped starting/race line-up system. Roof grades are taken on a total points basis. A new grading list will be issued after every 4 meetings.  The committee reserve the right to increase or decrease the grading period dependent on the fixture list.

  • Grades in descending order of achievement: Gold roof and silver roof, Superstars, reds, blues, yellows, remainder white tops. Graders will use discretion to increase and decrease the numbers in each grade to suit increasing number of drivers during a season. New drivers may opt to start at rear of grid for their first three meetings. Drivers exercising this option should have a black cross markings displayed on the rear of their car.

  • The Shaleshifter Champion is worthy of Superstar status and will start at that grade for the time that they hold the Championship. If they lose the championship they will go to either red or blue grade (points depending). 

  • A driver’s grade will always be elevated irrespective of how many meetings they have attended during a grading period, however if a driver is set to drop a grade but has only attended one meeting, they will be allowed to retain their grade for one further grading period only. If the driver still has insufficient points they may be downgraded by 1 or more grades.

  • Once a Driver has attained red top status, the driver cannot be re-graded lower than Yellow. Any driver who has reached Superstar cannot ever drop below blue. These drivers will start between the red grades and gold and silver grades. Racers from other formulas shall commence at their retiring grade less 1 i.e. if were blue start as yellow. A driver returning to racing after a time off will race at their previously held grade. On winning a final you will start at the back of your grade until the next grading period.

© 2020 by Modstox Racing Club. Created with

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Unauthorised use of pictures or text is prohibited, but please contact the club if you wish to research or publish any information about the formula.